The whole family is back together again, but in the worst possible way.  Today the funeral home returned Silas’ cremains to us.  It was horrible to have to go through that.  We still have to figure out exactly what our plans are for his memorial, but having his mortal remains here with us in the house is both comforting and disastrous.

My brother and his wife would like to plant a tree for Silas at their house in New Hampshire.  My co-workers at Bean & Leaf are also eager to let a sapling flourish in our son’s name.  We are honored to do all of that but we also want to find a place that is meaningful and beautiful and correct so that we can go there any time to be with him and cherish his memory.

This Hopi Prayer was sent to me by a friend and I have been thinking about it ever since.  Today seems a fitting day to post it:

Hopi Prayer of the Soul’s Graduation

Do not stand at my grave and weep.
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glint in the snow.
I am the sunlight on the ripened grain.
I am the gentle Autumn’s rain.
When you awaken in the morning hush,
I am the swift uplifting rush,
of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry:
I am not there,
I did not die.
My Spirit is still alive…

We love you Silas.  We always will.

