Every week is a new adventure.  I can only imagine what it is like for Lu.  I only see the results, how these symptoms and internal experiences are manifested in the real world, but she is living every second of it.  Craziness.

I came home today and I wasn’t sure where I was going to find Lu.  I knew it was one of two places, either the bed or the bathroom and the latter was correct.  She hadn’t puked on the bedroom floor from coughing so hard today which was good, but she had nearly passed out in the store again.  This time a woman had to get her a chair.

She is a tiny creature that is now pumping something insane like 40% more blood through her system.  No wonder she gets lightheaded.

The coughing is the new awesome thing, though.  It’s wild.  Suddenly I live with a 72 year old Pall Mall smoker, filterless for life, of course.  Maybe a new flu?  The same one as the stomach ache and then head ache reawakened?  No.  Just pregnancy.  Pregnant women can develop a terrible chronic cough.  Obviously.  Really, what can’t they develop?

Lu was hoping to have fun with this whole pregnancy thing.  But I think instead it’s having fun with her.  Pregnancy Side Effects had a meeting and decided to throw a party for the 6.72 billionth person, starting at conception.  All the Side Effects were invited.  Nausea, Constipation, Headache, Fatigue, Flu-Like Sensations, Aches, Pains, Swollens (Nipples and Ankles), Restlessness, Absentminder, Incessant Hunger, Indecision, Chronic Cough, Nasal Congester, Sore Boobage and even a few of the rarely seen effects like Purple Skin Spots, Xray Visionary, Fire Breather and Sudden Flights of Fancy have all stopped by to rock out with Little Baby Gallagosen.

But hey, that’s how we roll.  All of it every time every which way you can.  When we do things, we do all the things you can do with it.  We don’t hold back and this pregnancy is no exception.

I have no doubt Lu will look back on this whole experience as amazing and wonderful and I’m just so glad this blog is out here to remind us of the week that she spent coughing like it was her job.

And I can’t wait to see what happens next!

