The secret is out. All our friends and family are aware of our situation, and they are thrilled for us. It has been so much fun to share this news. It tops the news of getting into college, beats out getting engaged, and even trumps getting married by just a tiny margin. It’s natural, though. This is the culmination of all of those events.

Even though we are still on this side of birth, it truly feels like a major accomplishment to be having a child. As though I have achieved a key milestone–perhaps THE milestone–of my life on this planet. As I’ve mentioned previously, it is really incredibly common, but it remains a wholly unique experience for me, for us.

I suppose the only thing left after this is when this unborn child has a kid of his or her own. Apparently, from the reaction of our parents, being a grandparent is better than anything else in the world, ever, times a million plus a shout, cubed.

For me, though, for now, I will settle for Dad. That’s more than enough to keep me occupied for many years to come. And I cannot wait to see my wife Lu as Mom. I’m pretty sure she’s going to be among the best ever, just like hers and mine. I hope I can do as well.

