Word is spreading.  We’re slowly but surely ringing up our friends and family and letting them share in the joy. It still feels a little early, but we can’t help ourselves.  It’s too much fun.

Last night was great. We lied to our friends about being in the area and then dropped by with a gift for their 1 year old son.  The note was from his ‘pregnant aunt’ and when his Mom and Dad read that, their reactions were priceless.  It was so much fun to see people find out in person, because nearly everyone we’ve told has been over the phone.  Hopefully there will be a few more like that, but it’s been really tough to keep it to ourselves.

I’m really looking forward to the ultrasound.  I hope we get to see the heartbeat, but I know that doesn’t always happen.  In some ways the initial shock has worn off, and since she’s not showing, I have to keep reminding myself that this is really happening.  Intellectually I know this is definitely going down, but emotionally I’m still a little detached.  Each and every step will bring this into sharper focus, but I can see how it must be tough for guys to truly connect to the reality of pregnancy.  I can only stand here on the outside constantly asking, Are you okay?  How are you feeling?  What do you need?  What do feel like inside?  What can I do?

The fact is, though, one of the most important things I can do I already did.  Obviously there’s still plenty to take care of to make sure our new child enters the world safe and secure and that we are well-prepared.  But the extreme physicalness of this process is completely out of my hands.  There is the thin skin wall of her soft belly that conceals and contains this amazing event.  Until the child is breathing air, wrapped in my arms, all I can do is wait and watch and help and hope.

