This weekend is going to be tough. We only just found out on Monday and now we’re going to spend the weekend hanging out with friends. Tonight we’re even having dinner with one couple who are 8 months along. Sunday’s a Superbowl party, and a few friends will probably notice that my wife is not drinking. That she’s the DD for the day is the obvious answer. But for her to not even have one early in the day is unusual. We don’t want to tell them yet, though. So we’re going to have to be on the top of our game to live this lie. This lie of not being pregnant.

It’s fraught with danger. Our friends know that we want a family. My wife has had a tendency to talk about that, about babies, pregnancy, the future, the when and if of all of this. But now it’s here, and she can’t talk about it at all. The ironing is delicious. I can’t wait to see how she pulls this off. The thing is, I’m psyched, too, so it’s going to be tough for me as well. There are some people I feel like I can’t even hang with without them taking one look at us and knowing. All it takes is a single glance. A smile or gesture or the placement of one hand on the other’s body for even just a moment and some people who saw any of that would know in an instant.

They are watching us, and we must be vigilant to preserve our wonderful surprise. Game on.

